Are You Trying to Lead?

I enjoy watching people dance. You can tell how long they have danced with each other by their fluid movements and in-sync patterns. It’s almost as if you can’t tell where one partner ends and the other starts – it’s quite beautiful. This one-ness didn’t just happen. Trust and faith, understanding and adjusting come with time, patience and practice. The smallest pressures of a hand can signal when to turn, twirl, go forward or backward, slow up or quick step.

I think my life has been a dance – in particular a waltz – eagerly taking two steps forward and then, of course, one step backward. I am also reminded, too often, I want to be the leader in this dance.

Have you ever been going somewhere but not knowing where you are going? That’s what happens when I lead – whether in a dance, on a dance floor, or in life. Dan has been patient with me when I ‘take control’ on the dance floor. He has this sly smile that seems to say to me “go ahead but I’ll be here when you crash and fall!” You see, Dan is taller than I am so he sees a bigger picture … he has a keen sense of his surroundings – all the while in protect mode – whether it be from obstacles or other people. He is a good leader. When I take control, I am usually looking at his chest or my feet! LOL As you can imagine, that brings about some collisions!

I love thinking about how God choreographs our lives. God is choreographing yours. Psalm 37:3 says that our steps are ordered by the Lord. Psalm 139:10 tells us, “Even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me.”

Can you picture this? You are dancing through this life with a Heavenly Father that believes you are the belle of the ball. His hand is guiding you, placed at the small of your back – eager to apply the slightest pressure so that you will know whether to go right or left, slow or fast.

Proverbs 3:5-6 says, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.”

I don’t know who you have been trusting to lead you in this dance of life – but what would it look like to have the Creator of the Universe as your dance partner? What if you submitted your life to the One who went as far as being crucified on a cross – for you? Not only that, but then conquered death by rising after three days in a tomb. Jesus Christ knows your life – He was there in the beginning and He knows the end. He will guide you around the obstacles as you learn to feel His presence.

If you are not sure about where He is leading – then take a rest and stand on His feet. I remember doing that as a child. My brother was 15 years older than me, and he was so sweet and tender to just place my feet on top of his and then he would do the dancing for me. I just held onto his hands – and he led and I giggled and smiled and felt so much love, adoration and trust. I’m tearing up just thinking about how that felt – security, peace, joy. Our God will do the same for us.

In Isaiah 30:21, it says “The Lord will guide you always; He will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame.”

Your dance in this blended family comes with sudden moves, hidden obstacles, maybe a dip or two. Quit trying to lead. Stop expecting another human to be able to lead in the way you need and desire. Jesus is the way, the truth and the light. Jesus is the perfect partner – let Him lead.

Leave a Reply

